Skip to content

It is the mission of the Mohawk Trail Regional School District (MTRSD) School Committee to provide District students with the tools to achieve academic excellence, the curiosity to sustain lifelong learning, and the critical thinking essential to becoming active, engaged citizens. The School Committee members are fiscally responsible advocates for our schools, working collaboratively with one another and with other member towns. The School committee conducts its activities openly, encouraging the participation of educators, administrators, local officials, parents, students, and citizens.

MTRSD is made up of two representatives from each of the eight member towns: Ashfield, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Hawley, Heath, Plainfield, and Shelburne. Hawley’s representatives are Suzanne Crawford and Scott Purinton.

There are a total of 100 weighted points on the School Committee and Hawley accounts for 3.2 of those 100 points because of the town’s relative size.

MTRSD full School Committee meets monthly, usually at the school. The committee has a number of subcommittees and members are required to participate on two committees, usually of their choosing. Subcommittees meet monthly, or more often as needed.

The subcommittees are Budget, Education, Personnel, Policy, 3-District Transportation, Building, and Nilman Scholarship.

Visit for more information.

Back To Top